July 20, 2024

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has made a significant shift in its leadership by promoting Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIG) Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar to the rankDeputy Inspector General of Police (DIG).

Abubakar, who previously oversaw Zone 14 in Katsina, will now represent the North East in the Police Management Team, filling the vacancy left by the retired DIG Habu Sani.

In addition to this key appointment, the PSC has promoted 122 senior police officers.

These promotions include advancing 10 Commissioners of Police to AIGs, elevating 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police to Commissioners, and promoting 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners.

Furthermore, 61 Chief Superintendents of Police have been raised to the rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police.

The decisions were made during an extraordinary Management Meeting of the Commission on June 6, 2024, led by PSC Chairman Solomon Arase.

The promoted officers, including Abubakar, underwent a mandatory interactive promotion interview to qualify for their new ranks.

Arase emphasized the need for innovative and informed policing strategies to tackle the evolving challenges of crime in the digital age. He called on the newly promoted officers to be dedicated to their duty of safeguarding Nigeria, stressing the importance of a knowledge-driven police force.

The PSC chairman assured that the commission is committed to regular and predictable promotions for officers and men of the police force.

The newly promoted AIGs include Ahmed Ammani (former CP Enugu), Mohammed Dankwara Adamu (Deputy Commandant Police Academy, Wudil Kano), Gumel Mohammed Usaini (CP Kano State Command), Hamzat Adebola Ayinde (CP Oyo State Command), Okuoma Idegwu Basil (CP Elections, Force Headquarters Abuja), Achinyan Zachary Fera (CP FCID Enugu), Baba Zango Ibrahim (CP DFA, FCID, Abuja), Mohammed Isyaku (CP Admin, FCID Annex Lagos), and Margaret Agebe Ochalla (CP Police Special Fraud Unit Annex Lagos).

Promoted to the rank of Commissioners of Police are DCPs Bassey Samuel Ewah, Osagie John Agans-Irabor, Edem Ita Selong, Monday Agbonika, Michael Okoh, Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi, Iyama Daniel Edobor, Isa Danladi Nda, Akaniyene Ifebem Ezima, and Livingston Ikioye Orutugu, among others.

The 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to Deputy Commissioners include Obo Ukam Obo, Musibau Adeola Adedoyin, Lawal Bamidele Adeshina, Anthony Okon Placid, Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu, Suleiman K. Bayonle, Asuquo Effiong, Mustapha A. Rufai, Victor Akongtendor Bepeh, Chinedu Ugwu, Kingsley Ifeanyi Woke, Issah Onize Lawal, and Ifeanyi Aham Ohuruzo.

The PSC has conveyed the list of promoted officers to the Inspector General of Police for implementation and further action.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *